Territorial waters

The Amiri Decree issued on the 17th of December 1967 defined the boundaries of the State of Kuwait's territorial waters both the mainland and the islands - as 12 miles. It also regarded the Bay of Kuwait as purely inland waters with the limits of territorial waters starting at the line between the two headlands of the little Gulf (Bay).

The area of Kuwaiti territorial waters is estimated at about 2.200 square miles. They can be divided into two areas: The shallow Northern area, which is less than five meters deep in most places with muddy bed, and the relative1y deep Southern area, which has a bed of sand and silica deposits. Most of Kuwait's ports are located on the Southern shore to take advantage of the deep waters in this area.